Course  |  Brazilian regions and geography  |  Introduction to Brazil Online Training by VBRATA

Lesson 1:

Regions Overview

Brazil’s twenty-six states and the Federal District are divided conventionally into five regions:

  • Southeast
  • South
  • Central West
  • North
  • Northeast

In 2020 there were over 5,500 municipalities, which all have their own municipal governments. Many municipalities, which are comparable to United States counties, are divided into districts that do not have any political or administrative autonomy. In 2019, there were 10,607 districts and 686 sub-districts in total. 

Each of the five major regions has its own distinct ecosystem. Administrative boundaries, however, do not necessarily coincide with ecological boundaries, and, in addition to differences in physical environment, economic activity patterns and population settlement vary widely among the regions.

The principal ecological characteristics of each of the five major regions and their top socio-economic and demographic features are summarised in the following lessons.

Next Lesson  

Contact Us

If you have a question about our training courses or related topic
please contact us and we will reply to you as soon as possible.

Brazil Online Training by VBRATA

VBRATA Visit Brazil Travel Association
Tel: +44 (0)20 7617 7284

Email Us

Or follow us on our social networks

© 2021 Brazil Online Training by VBRATA | Designed by Bossa Online Training

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience