Course  |  Italy’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites  |  Italy Online Training

Lesson 3:

Prehistoric sites

Three are the sites dating back thousands of years ago attesting first settlements on the peninsula:

  • Rock Drawings in Valcamonica
    The first of Italy’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites, having been inserted on the List in 1979. Valcamonica (or Valle Camonica), in Lombardy, extends over approximately 90 km (56 miles) in the middle of the eastern Alps, between the Provinces of Brescia and Bergamo.

    Rock Drawings in Valcamonica, © UNESCO,

  • Su Nuraxi di Barumini: The Nuraghi
    The Nuragic complex of Barumini rises in an area known as the Marmilla, located in south-central Sardinia (in the Province of Medio Campidano). The complex at Barumini is one of the 55 UNESCO World Heritage Sites that can be found in Italy. 
  • Prehistoric Pile Dwellings around the Alps
    A series of 111 archaeological sites identified within the European Alps. These settlements, dispersed throughout Switzerland, Austria, France, Germany, Italy and Slovenia, became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2011. Of the 111 sites, 19 lie within Italy, located in five different regions: Lombardy (ten), Veneto (four), Piedmont (two), Friuli Venezia Giulia (one), and Trentino Alto Adige (two).

Contact Us

If you have a question about our training courses or related topic
please contact us and we will reply to you as soon as possible.

ENIT - Italian Tourist Board UK & Ireland

Travel Trade Department
1 Princess Street, London W1B 2AY
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7408 1254

Email Us

Or follow us on our social networks

© 2020 ENIT - Italian Tourist Board UK & Ireland | Designed by Bossa Online Training

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience